Surrender fear, loss, & Change with Julie Arduini

  • FREE e-Read of ENTRUSTED, Book 1 in Surrendering Time Series.
  • Exclusive news, encouragement, giveaways, freebies.
  • No crowding your inbox. Monthly updates with encouragement just for you!
 
 
0

Book Review: Forager by Peter R. Stone

Posted by Julie on January 24, 2014 in Book Review, Julie Arduini, Life Lessons |

forager-cover-final-198x300Book Description

Eighteen-year-old Ethan Jones lives in Newhome, a town built upon the decaying ruins of post-apocalyptic Melbourne, ruins haunted by the ferocious Skel, a nomadic tribe of degenerate savages. 

The Skel are ramping up their attacks on Newhome’s foraging teams and infesting Melbourne’s ruins in ever greater numbers. Is this part of a larger plan that could spell the town’s doom? 

Meanwhile, the last thing Ethan expects when he and his companions rescue a two-car convoy from the Skel is a Japanese teenage girl with an outlandish dress-sense, who after they take her back to Newhome, goes to great lengths to ingratiate herself into his life. But is it in gratitude for saving her life or is she seeking something more? 

And what a quandry she places him in, for he knows the rules, that no man is permitted to be alone with an unmarried woman. But how can he drive such a gentle soul away when she touches his heart so deeply, even though she clearly carries the pain of a broken heart. 

At the same time, Newhome’s police force, the Custodians, are suspicious of Ethan’s foraging team’s successes and are pulling out the stops to find out which member of his team has the illegal mutant ability that gives them an edge over the other teams. Should these peacekeepers discover Ethan is the mutant they seek, they will haul him away and dissect him like a frog.

This is a Dystopian novel in the tradition of The Hunger Games and Forager is a great page turner full of action and impending doom. This isn’t my strongest genre but Peter Stone does a great job explaining the characters, setting, time period and conflict so someone like me not only understands, but wants to keep reading.

Ethan is a strong older teen character with a lot of war wounds and struggles. He has a secret he needs to keep as well as secrets regarding him that keep coming out. He’s watching out for the Skel, and for the King family, especially the snooty daughter his father wants him to marry. There’s so much more to share, but I don’t want to spoil it. But the chemistry between Ethan and the Japanese teen has purpose, and I was blown away by their story.

To see for yourself, I encourage you to purchase Forager today. Click here to purchase.

I received a .pdf from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2011-2017 Julie Arduini All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.